Daily Archives: November 22, 2014

Music Crash Course at The Eighth Note

The husband bought me a little ukulele early this year because one of my New Year’s Resolutions was to learn an instrument. It was sitting around collecting dust for a really long time until I started a music crash course at The Eighth Note.

The music crash course is held over 4 weeks x 1 hour and you can choose from ukulele, guitar, pop keyboard and drums. I have absolutely no music background whatsoever and wasn’t expecting to learn all that much after four lessons but I was surprised!

In the short one hour of my first lesson, I learnt about the anatomy of a ukulele, how to read a chord diagram, and a few basic chords. By the end of that lesson, I could play 2 songs. Really a great sense of satisfaction! It helps that my teacher Neil is very patient but also strict enough to ensure I’m not slacking off. He took the time to find out the kind of songs I like so that I could learn them and to correct my mistakes.

After completing four weeks of lessons, I’m able to play many of my favourite songs on the ukulele and I also learnt different ways of strumming to fit different types of songs. For example, I can now play I’m Yours by Jason Mraz, Count on Me by Bruno Mars, a whole bunch of National Day songs including my all-time favourite Home, and at least 3 of Adele’s songs. And that’s just to name a few!

with my ukulele teacher, Neil

with my ukulele teacher, Neil

playing some simple songs

playing some simple songs

Anya has been taking the same ukulele crash course but she’s doing 8 weeks x 30 minutes since kids tend to have a shorter attention span. She’s about halfway though and can play a few chords and songs. I think she’s enjoying herself because she keeps wanting to borrow my ukulele to practise.

Anya and her teacher

Anya and her teacher

The music crash course is just $40 an hour and I think it’s utterly worth it. It’s great for complete beginners like me or if you want to try a new instrument before deciding to pursue it more seriously. I’m definitely impressed with my experience at The Eighth Note and will turn to them to fulfill any future New Year’s Resolutions!

The Eighth Note (Main Branch)
19 Lorong Kilat #01-04
Singapore 598120
Tel: 64651418
Email: hi@theeighthnote.com.sg

The Eighth Note (Parkway Centre)
Parkway Centre #02-02
Singapore 449408
Tel: 63480628
Email: jac@theeighthnote.com.sg

GIVEAWAY

I have a 4 weeks x 1 hour music crash course (or 8 weeks x 30 minutes for a child) to be won by one lucky reader! The winner can choose from ukulele, guitar, pop keyboard and drums.

To qualify, simply do the following by Saturday, 29 November 2014, 2359H (Singapore time):
1. Like the ‘In the Wee HoursFacebook page.
2. Like the ‘The Eighth Note‘ Facebook page.
3. Like, share and comment on this Facebook post telling me (a) which instrument you want to learn and (b) at which branch of The Eighth Note!

Terms & Conditions: This giveaway is open to Singapore residents only. Winners will be contacted through Facebook message and will have 24 hours to respond, failing which a new winner will be drawn. All incomplete entries will be disqualified. All entries will be verified before the winners are announced. To be fair to our sponsors, please note that all fake Facebook accounts (e.g. accounts set up purely to take part in contests with no or very few real friends) will also be ineligible to win.