Daily Archives: April 16, 2013

Parks, Picnics & Past-times – Playsets of Yesteryears at Raffles Place Park

Anya and I visited the temporary installation of retro playground equipment at Raffles Place on Saturday. This is the sort of playground I grew up playing at and I really wanted her to be able to share that. We were very happy to bump into Ling Siew and family there because it meant that Anya had someone her size to see-saw with.

When I was a kid, I loved hanging out at the playground with friends and neighbours. I remember playing often at the playground at the flats near my grandmother’s place in Veerasamy Rd. My fond memories of the playground of my childhood include spinning on the merry-go-round until I was dizzy, swinging so high I felt like I was about to fly off into space, and leaving the person on the other side of the see-saw stuck in mid-air and suddenly banging the see-saw down to the ground! Good times. ;)

retro ice-shaver

retro ice-shaver

old-school snacks

old-school snacks

games we played

games we played

swinging

swinging

see-saw

see-saw

merry-go-round

merry-go-round

frisbee

frisbee

the little one joins in

the little one joins in

sand is fun

sand is fun

‘Playsets of Yesteryears’ will be at Raffles Place until 19 May, after which it will move on to East Coast Park, Bishan-AMK Park and Singapore Botanic Gardens.